TEAM MEMBERS – WHY WE RELAY – WE’VE MADE A PROMISE. HAVE YOU?

TEAM MEMBERS – WHY WE RELAY – WE'VE MADE A PROMISE. HAVE YOU?.

One thought on “TEAM MEMBERS – WHY WE RELAY – WE’VE MADE A PROMISE. HAVE YOU?

  1. What do you do when in the space of 2 months you find out that two of your family members have cancer. Two of your favorite but most frustrating siblings but you can’t imagine living without them or what they actually have to face in the coming months. To be honest it’s hard for me to wrap my mind around it all. There is nothing in our family history to suggest that this can be genetically related, but the doctors are saying so. I fully intended to keel over from heart disease or complications from type 2 diabetes which has stricken all 7 of my sibilings and myself. I fully expected to live no longer than my mother who passed away at 56. What do I do with this new “threat”? I sit here, tears streaming down my cheeks, not fear so much, but almost a sense of inevitability. So I ask myself, what now? 1) screening, 2) support, 3) and the inevitable when I’m feeling cornered and challenged …come out swinging and hit the problem head on after I’ve had time to absorb the shock. I will admit that my brother’s prosaic, calm attitude helped me not freak out. We’re not a family to freak out of BIG things, the little stuff? Well that’s another story. So, Relay friends, get ready because this train just turned from a steam engine to a diesel and it’s leaving the station, with or without those who want to hop on. Thanks for letting me vent a bit of my fear and frustration here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

